Imperial County Fire Department recognizes outstanding firefighters

2014 Captain of the Year Danny Stauf and 2014 Reserve Firefighter of the Year Julio Segura


HEBER – The Imperial County Fire Department and Office of Emergency Services held their promotion ceremony Friday, November 14 at the Heber station.

Imperial County Supervisor Ryan Kelley began the ceremony with some insight, having been a firefighter himself.

“The fire service is a valuable service to the community,” said Kelley. “When firefighters first get into the department, they expect kids to wave at them. It’s just the nature of it. When they come to your home, they are coming to help with lifesaving services or to mitigate a problem. I’m very proud to have all of you representing Imperial County and I appreciate you.”

Tony Rouhotas, Jr., Imperial County Fire Chief and Office of Emergency Services Coordinator, presented the awards.

“This is a proud moment for myself,” said Rouhotas. “Not just for you guys moving forward, but for opening the door for a new generation and better things to come. Your dreams are becoming a reality because of your dedication, your intelligence, and the hard efforts put forward. There are many proud faces upon you. You should be proud of the fact that you have accomplished and achieved where you are today. You must also look ahead to where you’ll be tomorrow. It’s up to you to represent not just yourself, but also the department that you work for and the badge that is pinned upon your chest. You must remember that you are a person of higher character. You must instill that higher character and moral and ethical values that have been instilled upon you amongst that community that you will serve from here on out.”

Aaron Castro was promoted to Fire Captain.

Andrew Loper was promoted to Fire Prevention Specialist.

Randall Andrews was promoted to Fire Code Inspector.

Robert Martinez was promoted to Firefighter II.

Reserve Firefighters introduced were Bryan Centeno, Marvin Centeno, Sebastian Flores, Douglas Fordyce, Jonathan Rodriguez, Marco Rojas, and Jesus Ruiz.

Julio Segura was named 2014 Reserve Firefighter of the Year.

Steven Monreal was named 2014 Firefighter of the Year.

Danny Stauf was named 2014 Captain of the Year.

“I am proud to work along side of you,” said Rouhotas. “I say beside you because success is built on team work. I measure success not by the people I am leading, but by the people that are helping me achieve those goals that are right next to me. I thank you for that.”

[envira-gallery id=”44674″]