Brawley Superintendent receives pay increase

45

(BRAWLEY) – The Brawley Elementary School District voted unanimously in closed session at the August 28 meeting that the district would pick up Superintendent Ron Garcia’s full health care insurance bill for two parties.  

The district had paid $4,000 of his co-pay, while the superintendent paid $8,335, but by the board’s decision the district will pay the full $12,992 insurance fee. 

This motion was made by board president Gloria Sandoval and seconded by Armando Padilla.  

(To comment, click on title then scroll to the bottom of the page)

On September 11th, Amendments to the Superintendent Employment Agreement were changed to ratify the health care payments along with an additional $14,000 dollar raise. 

 Superintendent Garcia, upon being rehired by the two new board members Janette Sandoval and Yvonne Burns who were elected last November and members Sandoval and Cesar Guzman, Garcia was given a raise of $5000. Member Padilla had voted no to Garcia being rehired.  This brought his salary up to $135,000. This latest raise brings his total salary to $149,000.00

Garcia stated that he had shared with the board comparative information about what other superintendents were geting in the Imperial County which they reviewed prior to his raise.

Garcia said, “Also, not wanting to go back into the past, when I first negotiated, which was very different here, I was actually negotiating with a subordinate. I didn’t understand it, I thought it was a local practice.”

He went on to say it is normal for a candidate to negotiate with either the board president or the entire board and that is when one sets their conditions. “I wasn’t given neccessarily accurate information when I first came in to the negotiation process. There are many things normally that a superintendent would get in terms of a contract that I didn’t. I’m starting my 3rd year, so it was a good time to make that adjustment.”

Garcia went on to explain that this is the only district he had worked in as a supervisor, including 6 1/2 years at Delano and as an assistant superintendent for 4 years, that did not pay all of the insurance benefits. “It is a big part of a standard benefit package,” Garcia said.

Garcia justified his raise by pointing out the pay of other superintendents being higher. “My salary is still lower than many of the other superintendents in the Imperial County.”

According to Garcia the district has reorganized, and there is less administrative staff now than other districts the size of Brawley elementary. “We have about 4000 students and the district staff is myself, and two at director levels. We don’t have an associate director position, we don’t have an assistant superintendent. We are managing the district with a lot less than other districts our size. That means more work. I think I was fair in what I asked for and I think I was reasonable. From my standpoint, it was long overdue.”

 

 

45 COMMENTS

  1. Shame on you Mr. Garcia….from what I personally know of you it is definately not deserved….You are not a man of integrety. I would fear for my children to be around you…If people only knew!!!!

  2. ok board, ron has set you up and you all fell for it. with this big salary and benefits, when he retires, he will have a realllly nice retirement thanks to the besd board.. it is based on his salary. also board, do you look at the consent agenda items to review them. there are alot of expenses that are listed there. are you paying attention to what he is covering up in that agenda, you have to pay close attention to everything. look at the legal expenses that are listed every 2 weeks. why is it so high?? what is he doing to incurr such a cost. look at the year to date totals just since he has been back!! alot of wasted money!! come on, get the old board back….. he is denying public information to public, he is trying to cover up things, and now he wants a bond for a gym at barbara worth!!
    he will misuse that money too. wake up before its toooo late!!! get rid of him….

  3. I have secured a meet with Ron Garcia at 2:30 PM on 10/1/12. For any number of reasons the Superintendant requested the presence of Trustee Yvonne Burns at our meet. I agreed. However, two on one is not fair to the district. Bring in Guzman, Santillian, Padilla and Sandoval. Governor Brown suspended the Brown Act on 07/12/12. As such, a six on one meet is both legal and as close to fair as I can get.

  4. so i just read on ivpressonline, that panduro is the director of education. isn’t he the projects coordinator also. exactly how many titles has ron given his number one boy.better yet, how many salaries is he drawing. i know he was drawing the projects salary, the principal salary at the same time. now the director of education!!! once again, ron garcia what do you do…. other than assign titles and promote your select few favorites.. panduro must be making one heck of a salary from all of these dreamed up titles to try to justify his money… but of course he is going to need as much as he can get…

  5. remember ron garcia you did not have job when this came along. you were living off your lawsuit from delano school district. besd should have done what they did. pay you off to go away. oh wait, you got the pay off you just did not go away. too bad for our kids. they deserve better….

  6. I have been asking the people for help since 05/22/11. No takers. Ever. No fault found. I know first hand the fears of contesting a machine that could destroy the contestant and his/her family. I am afraid to contest Ron and his well built network and well oiled machine alone. But. I accept that someone must do something. I have pulled back my letter to the editor. I have requested a meet with Ron. I will go into the lion’s den alone. With hard work and tenacity, I will earn the way to right this mess.

    • For WE to do anything we must all come together. That is a near impossible task when the maajority of those concerned coose to be anonymos. I am going to publicly call out our Super for everything that I belive him to be. I am going to be in every board meeting through 6/30/13. I am going to exercise all of my resources to ensure that the Superintendant is walked out of Brawley forever on 6/30/13. If you, or anyone else wants to come togeather to earn a common goal I can be reached via email at wildcatdad@att.net and via text or call at 7604819146 or 7602153853. I am also available at facebook.com/kevinhickingbottom.

  7. State workers and others government workers still taking 5% cuts and was 15% less than two years ago. No raises since 2004. Yet a Supervisor with only 6 months of experience and a school district that doesn’t meet Standards and offers students to go to El Centro to get better education seems a bit ridiculous. Had he proven himself after a year or two with better Test scores as a District I would be OK with this raise. But not with the present scores. Shame Shame for those Board Members who approved this raise. None of you get my vote next election, guaranteed.

    • parents can request their students to be transferred to another school that is not program improvement at no cost to the parents. it is a cost to the district. so i urge all parents to ask for that transfer. do what is right for your student. obviousley the board and the supe do not care. they are throwing money out the door., 4000 water bottles??? what is that about… grant money, maybe, but not for water bottles. why not put that $$ into a program for our kids. our kids deserve better. get your kids into a school that is NOT PI. come on lets do the right thing>>

    • Well written Mr. Orozco. If more people had the courage and conviction to put their name on their arguments, our district would not be in this mess. Well done.

  8. I hear you all. I respect your tenacity. Much has happened since the Board decision on 06/14/11. In the best interests of our students, our Superintendant was fired. The ex Super and his wing man filed law suites. The teachers formed a political action comitie. Some veteran Trustees lost thier chair. Some good candidates lost an election. A concerted effort between the ex super, the ACC, the Hidalgo Society and the teachers PAC resulted in a new Board that would the ex supers bidding and rehired the super on 04/15/12. From that time, also rans have been promoted while our leaders have been demoted. Add to that the fact that the super has been given a, non contractual $14k pay raise. If that is not enoug, the new Board has turned a blind eye the standard benefits afforded to all prior supers. The super has been give an $8992 in benefit contributions. That equates to a $22,992 raise for 6 months of work. It is wrong. I should have been there to stop it. I was too busy licking my wounds and working for my daughters at Brawley High. What is done and cannot be undone. What, we the people, can do is stand togeather to ensure that the super is walked out of our district on 6/30/13. I will do my part. Will you do your’s? .

  9. all i can say is to call “delano” he rubber stamped everything without board approval. he went after certain board members when they confronted him, just like pryor and stiff did. do not question him about anything.. he was out of control there also. check it out…i don’t think he did not have a job when he got this one….

  10. so eric reyes states on facebook: buhs supe got a raise, whats the difference? alot,buhs supe had goals set in her contract.if she met those goals she received the raise that came along with those merits.
    besd supe has no goals in his contract. he has no goals with the board. he meets no goals and receives a raise. so what is the difference?

  11. It wasn’t just the West side that had there hands on this. There is plenty of blame to go around. Remember Garcia played the race card because Stiff and Pryor questioned a couple of frivolous attempts to waste money. That’s when he got Eric and Guzman to do his dirty work for him. Then a retired teacher had an ax to grind against Sue Smith from a former job in EC, and she sicked her daughter on them. People jumped on both wagons and circled them around the old board. Funny that the old board members were trying to stop Garcia from wasting 5-10K and the new board has given him so much more. That’s what you get when you get rid of board members who had integrity and were looking out for the best interest of the district. So if there is blame to spread, it should cover this whole town.

    • in a nutshell here is what is happening. he is doing what he wants with no one overseeing or they are afraid to question him. he does not answer to no one. not even the board. he is out of control. did you know he rented a van and sent 2 employees to san diego to pick up 4000 water bottles!!! what is that about??? where did that money come from? wake up before its toooo late. kids first!!!

  12. TEACHERS, I THINK YOU SHOULD ALL STAND UP AND MAKE ALL YOUR COMPLAINTS BE KNOW TO THE PUBLIC. EVERYONE TALKS BUT KNOW ONE DOES ANYTHING ABOUT IT.. WAKE UP PEOPLE LETS TAKE THIS MAN AND BOARD DOWN….

    • WAIT, THIS IS WHAT THE TEACHERS AND THE WEST SIDE OF BRAWLEY WANTED. ITS KINDA HARD TO STAND UP NOW AFTER MAKING FOOLS OF ALL OF US.. EVEN THE ONES THAT WERE NOT PART OF THIS WHOLE MESS. SOME OF US JUST WANT TO DO OUR JOBS AND TEACH KIDS.

      • “Teachers and West Side of Brawley”, wow you almost make it sound racial. What happened is Ron Garcia’s political friends organized and took the Castle. I remember Hickingbottom asking for help to get rid of Ron, looks like the “West Side” was asleep. The time to wake up and act is now.

        • no not racial and no they were not asleep. they are just as responsible as the teachers are for this so called superintendent. they did not even know this person. he just promised to get rid of irene s. for all of them. which he did not do…. moreno did…
          he did not like her so he went after her…
          nice guy!! they may use that excuse once they see what he is doing…. but some are rewarding him for certain things.. so lets move the party to the west side of brawley. i hear from him that the bar is open until the last member leaves. party!!!

    • Some teachers and staff have attempted in the past to speak up, only to be placed on Panduro’s sh** list. He is vindictive and will make your working environment virtually torturous. Everyone knows he is running the show and if any teacher or staff member complains you will get the wrath. That’s why no one speaks up and he gets away with al of his sexual misconduct with a subordinate, nepotism, frivolous spending, and ruling like a dictator by fear. The other clown Garcia has no clue, so he’s just going along for the ride ready to reap rewards he has not earned.

      • Could not have put it better. This my friends is exactly how it is. Panduro introduce this cesspool of evil into the district. Funny, I was led to believe that when he first came to BESD he was a practicing Jehovah Witness. What a dummy I am.

  13. well, you know that the grand jury just completed an investigation on the old board. guess what people, they found they did NOTHING wrong, at all. its public. none of the ones who filed really want to acknowlege this but its fact… free and clear.
    the wreckless spending and out of control board and supe should be investigated. it take 5 people to launch the same complaint. so insider get down there, fill out the form. the old board at least cared about the kids. lets do it….

  14. If you have complaints about those in power,that’s one thing, but nasty inuendos, gossip, and undocumented rumors only make you look bad. If you have something concrete, file an official complaint. If not, do your work, and let the chips fall where they will, but don’t gossip.

    • These are the compaints. See for yourself. As a taxpayer you visit the school. Besides, officails complaints are a joke at BESD. Ask the Teachers? Do your homework before you act high and mighty.

      • So Garcia wants to be paid like the other Supes. How about trying to EARN it first. Many of those others have spent many years on the job. He wants to be paid as much as them bring on the job for a year and a half? He might get it with that group of sheep. Or he might get Guzman to sign a warrant for extra duty pay, even though he doesn’t have any legal authority on his own to do this. Kudos to the business office staff that stood up to them and denied the request because it was ILLEGAL!! But boy did they get the stink eye and more.

        • Yeah, that was one thing that bothered me, he never mentioned meritorious reasons for extra money, it was all because he should get what other top earners get. Are test scores up? Has he saved the district a load of money?

          • the whole board is pathetic. his new contract says “NO OVERTIME” he should have never gotten overtime, he is a contract emloyee. work your224 days and go home. there are no meritorious reasons that he has done. go to a board meeting, he sits his cell phone on the table or under the desk, it vibrates off the table. he texts and is on the phone constantly. who could he be talking to all the time?? panduro, ceci or ??
            he says his raise is because there is no assoc. supe and he is having to work harder. i am sorry, he does not work at doing what is best for our students. its all about him and his circle of staff that stroke his ego. sad, sad, sad…..

        • gusman and garcia should have been prosecuted for that. it was illegal and totally wrong. had the old board not found out, it would have gone thru. so if this was done, what else is going on that is illegal?? i hope people are on their toes and eyes wide open…

  15. Party time. Set up the place Panduro….Hidalgo Hall. This guy is a natural born liar and he is being showered with mula we don’t have. Make him earn it. Only in Brawley. Que onda Board? Lurking is a little incident that will rock your mind and make people think twice about Garcia and Panduro.

    • i think i know which incident you are talking about. there is alot of hanky panky going on between certain ones. its the known story all over town. certain ones have been seen. they can’t wait for the next out of town conference. what goes on when they attend those together?

      • It’s a joke…hanky panky, nepotism, free IPads,parties, 2 rucas fighting over Hardbread (Panduro). Garcia, Fernandez and all that District staff know what is going on. All these people are letting down the kid’s. And then you have those 2 Rucas dressing like staight out Hookers competing over Panduro. By the way who is doing Garcia’s work? Panduro? Get rid of Garcia and watch Panduro.

    • insider, the party has moved. i hear that he is now a member of the stockmens club. can’t you just see this group at the stockmens club bar!!!

  16. WHAT?? WHAT IS WRONG WTIH OUR BOARD MEMBERS! GLORIA I EXPECT THIS FROM YOU BECAUSE YOU ARE A FOLLOWER BUT ARMANDO I AM SUPRISED YOU ALLOWED THIS TO HAPPEN!!! YOU ARE ONE OF THE ONES THAT VOTED TO GET RID OF MR. GARCIA AND NOW YOUR ON HIS SIDE!! SO DISAPOINTED IN YOU!!! THIS MAN DOES NOT DESERVE A RAISE!! WHAT HAS HE DONE TO DESERVE THIS? HE HAS CONSULTANTS FOR EVERYTHING AND HE CAN’T GIVE YOU A STRAIGHT ANWSER!! WHAT ABOUT THE TEACHERS HOW COME WE DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT THIS!! I AM SO UPSET SHAME ON YOU BOARD MEMBERS FOR ALLOWING THIS MAN TO BREAK OUR SCHOOL!! DID YOU ALL FORGET ABOUT OUR STUDENTS AND OUR TEACHERS!!

    • ron garcia, tell the truth!!i don’t think you negotiated with a subordinate, it was the interim supe and the board. i have talked with board members and the interim. the board was very aware of the negioations. you and the interim corresponded via email to negoitate. i do beleive there are emails from you and the interim that state how thankful and grateful you were for the opportunity. i will see if i can get you copies of them. he tells a whole different story. maybe some of the board members have copies or even the interim supe. at the time.
      i have seen these emails, he was very involved in the whole process.
      what is the associate director position? never heard of that. you wanted to make projects one director and not two.
      not sure what you are talking about when you say you have been here 3 years. one year and half of another. remember you were fired for six months… i will get the emails and make them public to everyone… they tell the absolute truth.
      shame on you all.

      • SO HE GETS 5000.00 THEN 30000.00. THEN 14000.00. THE 8300.00 INS. THAT ADDS UP TO ONE HECK OF ALOT OF MONEY.
        LETS REQUEST FROM THE DISTRICT A LIST OF ALL SUPES IN THE VALLEY AND COMPARE. BETTER YET LETS LOOK OUTSIDE THE VALLEY AT COMPARABLE SCHOOLS.
        HE HAS BEEN HOSTING BREAKFAST PARTIES FOR STAFF AT DIFFERENT TIMES. SORRY I MISSED OUT ON BOTH OF THEM..
        LETS LOOK AT THE LEGAL FEES THAT HAVE INCURRED SINCE HE IS BACK.
        HE EVEN WENT TO A CASINO FOR A FEW DAYS FOR A CLASS WITH FREDDIE. WHEN IS THE SPENDING GOING TO STOP AND START USING IT ON OUR KIDS… THEY DESERVE BETTER. WE ARE A PROGRAM IMPROVEMENT DISTRICT, 4 OF 5 SCHOOLS ARE IN P.I. MAYBE WE SHOULD TRY A LITTLE HARDER AT GETTING OUT…
        HE WAS THERE A YEAR, FIRED AND HIRED BACK SO HE HAS BEEN EMPLOYED ABOUT 1 AND HALF YEARS NOT THREE.

        • Let’s just say that quite a few teachers who were the members of the PAC have rethought their positions and are working to undo what we did. But we have to do it QUIETLY or we can lose our jobs.

      • Do it Cowboy! We need to get rid of this Skezzer and his gang. Hidalgo Society is behind all this. They Have BETA, BESD and BUHSD in their palms. Eric the Red (or shall I say the Player) need to be stopped.

        • these are not nasty rumors, these are facts, so when it is out, it will destroy some people who think they are above all the rest of us…
          he hangs out at h. hall, acc and drinks and parties with staff that he supervises. isn’t that wrong. i think so….

    • YOU DID NOT KNOW ABOUT IT BECAUSE YOU DID NOT READ THE AGENDAS.
      YOU TRUSTED THE MAN AND THE BOARD OF EDUCATORS. THIS IS WHY THIS WAS A BAD IDEA. NO ONE WOULD LISTEN…

Comments are closed.