PMH Foundation Donates Funds for the Purchase of New State-of-the-Art Imaging Device


Pioneers Memorial Hospital FrontBRAWLEY — Pioneers Memorial Hospital Foundation is pleased to announce the donation of $105,000 toward a two year commitment to fund the purchase of a new-state-of-the art imaging device for use in the surgical department at Pioneers Memorial Hospital.

The original commitment was for $175,000.  The hospital, however, was able to negotiate a better purchase price reducing the equipment cost to only $137,000.  The PMH Foundation will fund the total purchase price in the next two months and then seek a new project to support the hospital.

This new imaging device is a Veradius mobile C-Arm with a flat detector and rotating anode for use in cardiovascular and interventional surgeries.  It allows the physician and staff to obtain images throughout a surgery.   PMH is noted for maintaining the most current imaging equipment.

The PMH Foundation has donated over $1,938,500 to purchase equipment or upgrade the facility since the inception of the Foundation.

Outgoing Foundation President Carter Taylor commented, “It has been my pleasure to lead the effort of the Foundation Board to insure that our hospital maintains its place as a quality healthcare facility for all the residents of Imperial Valley. This community supports the Foundation and the hospital in those efforts.”

“We are grateful for the wide variety of clinical departments that have been improved through the support of the PMH Foundation.

Over the years, the Imaging Services department, Women’s Services, Pharmacy, ICU and Pediatrics have been the recipient of funds needed to update facilities or obtain new equipment.

On behalf of the surgical staff and our independent licensed surgeons, we are pleased that the Foundation decided to benefit our surgical department with this new technology”, stated Larry Lewis, Chief Executive Officer, Pioneers Memorial Healthcare District.

In  April, the Foundation board elected the following officers for its fiscal year 2014-2015: President, Shelvie Crittendon; Vice President, Greg Smith; Treasurer, Shavaun King; and Secretary, Don Shank.