IV Football Coaches Association honors new inductees




WESTMORLAND –  Monday night the Original Town Pump Steak House was the setting for the 15th Annual Imperial Valley Football Coaches Association (IVFCA) Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies.

Over 200 family members and friends were present for the twenty-five Inductees as players from the different Imperial Valley high schools and the I.V.C football teams of 60’s and 70’s attended the event.

The man on the microphone was Mike Swearingen. The former coach and player who has taken great pride in Imperial Valley Sports as well as knowing everything there is to know about I.V. football.

Also being inducted into the Hall of Fame was Stan Armstrong as an official for twenty five years of service. He was highly praised as one of the best in the Imperial Valley.

Coach Wayne Wolski was inducted as a Head Coach for the I.V.C football program in the 1970’s and he praised the Imperial Valley athletes he coached during his tenure.

Dr. George Fareed was also inducted into the Hall of Fame as a Team Physician. Dr.Fareed has been a team physician for many teams in the Imperial Valley and each team knows the importance of his skills. He expressed what drives his dedication and services are the kids. The “Doctor with a Huge Heart” was a great choice for induction into the IVFCA Hall of Fame.

“It was an honor and privilege to host the IVFCA Hall of Fame Dinner and we’d like to thank Mike Swearingen for allowing us to,” said Original Town Pump Steakhouse owner Gabriel Rebollar.  “We look forward to hosting the event in the years to come.”

Gus Garcia contributed to this article.

Hall of Fame Inductees Class of 2014



George Guirsch, Brawley Union (deceased)

Les Horton, Central Union (deceased)


1950’sDick Mamer, Brawley UnionGeorge Shenas, Central UnionBasil Varner, Holtville
1960’sJerry Williams, Brawley Union (deceased)Gerald Richardson, Central UnionBennie Aguirre, HoltvilleJack Lewis, Imperial (deceased)Steve Smyth, IVC

David Bellamy, IVC


1970’sArt Saikhon, Brawley UnionSteve Kandal, Central UnionMike Thompson, ImperialHerman Williams, IVC 
1980’sRonnie Rubio, Brawley UnionGabe Hernandez, Central UnionWalter Lenhardt, HoltvilleSchannon Mohamed, Imperial 1990’sRick Rubio, Brawley UnionBrian Martin, Central UnionJason Willingham, HoltvilleSammy Garcia, Imperial 
2000-2004Arturo Platero, Central UnionEddie Conner, Southwest