Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association announces Scholarship Recipients


ivvga_new_arch_ldqt ivvga_new_arch_ldqtivvga_new_arch_ldqtivvga_new_arch_ldqt


EL CENTRO – The Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association is pleased to announce the recipients of its Imperial Valley Produce Scholarships, as well as the three other significant agriculture related scholarships. The purpose of these scholarships is to assist students who wish to launch or continue their studies in agricultural related majors, and is only awarded to Imperial Valley students attending a four year college who maintain a grade point average of 2.5 or above.

The following Imperial Valley students will receive an Imperial Valley Produce Scholarship

  • John Brooks Hamby – Brawley Union High School
  • Cole Pfister – Brawley Union High School
  • Connor Trimm – Brawley Union High School
  • Remington Campbell – Brawley Union High School
  • Carlos Gomez – Imperial High School
  • Brooke Bradshaw, originally from Holtville High School, now attending Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Joshua Klockmann, originally from Brawley Union High School, now attending, Cal Poly Pomona

The funds for the Produce Scholarship were raised this year by the Imperial Valley Vegetable Growers Association from donations to the scholarship fund from Tyler Insurance, Keithly-Williams Seeds Company, Wells Fargo, Western Growers Association, and the family of John Elmore.


John Brooks Hamby was also the recipient of the Farm Credit Services Southwest S.T.A.R.T. Scholarship. This is the second year that IVVGA has managed this scholarship award on behalf of Farm Credit Services Southwest. Brooke Bradshaw is the first recipient of the newly created Philip Vessey Memorial Scholarship. This new scholarship was created in memory of the son of Jon Vessey and is awarded based on the same requisites as the other scholarships and with the additional proviso that the recipient has attended Holtville High School. The Ed McGrew Scholarship is awarded to Conner Trimm. The McGrew Scholarship, created by IVVGA to honor founding member and still advisory board member Ed McGrew, is also awarded based on the same criterion and with the additional requirement that the student attend Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. Mr. McGrew is a graduate of Cal Poly San Luis Obispo.