BUHSD passes two controversial policies on the naming of school buildings and graduation honors system

The Board at the naming of the Scott Pace gym floor on September 12, 2013
The Board at the naming of the Scott Pace gym floor on September 12, 2013

BRAWLEY – The BUHSD Board voted during their August 13th meeting that school policy will forbid naming individual buildings or facilities in recognition of individuals living or deceased.

The board had struggled with this policy as requests have come to rename various sports fields and courts, and buildings the past few years. One request came with an offer to donate $100,000 for the renaming of the Junior College building after his parents. The board denied the request.

Since the death of Captain Scott Pace, Killed in Action during a battle in Afghanistan, a committee was formed to name the gym floor of the old gym in his honor. The board eventually approved that request once the year of waiting dictated by the old school policy had passed.

However, the board does encourage the community to participate in the process of selecting names for new schools.

According to a letter recently sent to parents of Brawley high school students, a citizen advisory committee will be appointed to review name suggestions and submit recommendations for the board’s consideration.

Also finalized at the board meeting was the new Latin Honors system for the top tier of high school graduates.

According to the new policy which will be implemented with the Class of 2018, the honors for academic achievement at graduation will be based on Latin Honors Model.

Students must have completed all requirements for a standard diploma by graduation date, and only the coursework taken in grades 9-12 and summer school will be used, along with all on-line courses taken at BUHS.

Also, Advanced Placement and Honors courses taken at BUHS will have the following weighted grade points:

A=5 points, B=4, C=3, D=1, and F=0

Other courses will receive grade points as follows, with the exception of those specified in Administrative Regulation #5121:

A=4 points, B=3, C =2, D=1, and F=0

The GPA will be calculated based on 8 semesters which is different the the current policy which is based on 7 semesters.

The three categories for student recognition will be as follows:

Summa Cum Laude: Students with a GPA of 4.00 or above

Magna Cum Laude: Students with a GPA of 3.5 to 3.99

Cum Laude: Students with a GPA of 3.00 to 3.49