Assemblymember V. Manuel Pérez to serve on new committee on Justice Reinvestment

Manuel Perez at Del Rio CC
Assemblyman Manuel Perez at Del Rio Country Club during the Renewable Energy Tour


SACRAMENTO РAssemblymember V. Manuel P̩rez announced that he has been appointed by Assembly Speaker John A. P̩rez (D-Los Angeles) to serve on the newly established Assembly Select Committee on Justice Reinvestment.

“Public safety realignment and prison overcrowding are matters of great relevance to Coachella and Imperial Valley communities, and therefore I’m very pleased to be participating on this select committee,” said Pérez. “Our task will be to develop policy approaches as we work with the Governor to find solutions to the state’s enduring criminal justice and prison challenges.”

The Committee will hold its first hearings on Monday, October 21 in Sacramento.  According to the Speaker’s office, the first hearing will review the current challenges facing the state’s justice system, consider fiscal and other impacts, and discuss possible solutions.

Assemblymember Tom Ammiano (D-San Francisco) and Assemblymember Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr. (D-Los Angeles) will Co-Chair the Committee.  Other members appointed include: Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra (D-Pacoima); Assemblymember Cheryl R. Brown (D-San Bernardino); Assemblymember Rocky J. Chávez (R-Oceanside); Assemblymember Jeff Gorell (R-Camarillo); Assemblymember Melissa A. Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore); Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (D-Torrance); Assemblymember Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley); Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Monterey Bay); Assemblymember Marie Waldron (R-Escondido); and Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego).