4-H Achievement Night showcased youth skill-sets and accomplishments

Mary Harmon Taylor Dill
Past 4-H Advisor Mary Harmon hands Taylor Dill the Mary Harmon Scholarship Award


IMPERIAL – Imperial County 4-H Clubs came together Monday, June 30th, at the Frank Wright Middle School to award those who earned their annual achievements and to introduce the 2014-15 All Stars.


Supervisor Michael Kelley, District 3, shook each winners hand and handed them their medals.


Kelley said, It is a thrill to be in the presence of all those brilliant innovative future leaders.”


Southwest Valley 4-H hosted the event. Michelle Edgemon, community leader organized her club and others to provide refreshments, printing the bulletin and organizing the presentation of colors.

Edgemon said, “This is the last day of our calendar year. Tomorrow, July 1st, we officially start the next year. We hope to have a county wide swim bash in August, to get everybody going again.”


Besides awards for individual achievement and club achievement, scholarships were handed out to seniors continuing on to either a 4 or 2 year university. A special scholarship has been started in honor of Mary Wavra Harmon, called the Mary Harmon Scholarship.


Harmon retired as the Imperial County University of California Cooperative Extension 4-H adviser in 2011 after 16 years in that position on two separate occasions (1978-1990, 2007-2011). Harmon has been involved in 4-H throughout most of her life.


An emotional Harmon said as she passed out the scholarship to recipient Taylor Dill from Mulberry 4-H Brawley, “I remember being told in my 3rd grade class by a guest speaker, ‘No matter what happens to you, you may lose your house, your friends, or your job, but nobody can ever take your education from you. That always stayed with me. That is why having a scholarship in my name to advance someone’s education touches me deeply.”


The 4-H Council recently did lose their president, Sheri Roberts. Roberts was in management with National Beef and when the Brawley Plant closed, she returned to Kansas.


According to Edgemon her position has not been replaced.

The 2013-2014 Imperial County All Stars are Steven Johnson – Star Route, Bryanne Sanchez – Southwest Valley, and Carlos Lopez – McCabe.